Château Saint Denis Hotel

Downtown Natchtioches welcomes the 2020 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

June 30 2021 | News

Delayed but not forgotten, is a theme that has been spoken often over the last year and this June was no different. Natchitoches was privledged to host to the 61st Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony the last week of June. Festivities included a welcome reception, Celebrity Bowling Bash,  the VIP Taste of Tailgaiting and Rockin' River Fest held on the downtown Natchitoches Riverbank.  Saturday's events kicked off with the 2nd annual Round Table Lunch held at Chateau Saint Denis and the weekend capped off with the Induction Ceremony at the Natchitoches Events Center. 

Eleven inductees were welcomed into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame on June 26, 2021.  The newly elected members include: eight -time world bodybuilding champion Ronnie Coleman, 'The Duck Commander", Phil Robertson, "Sweet" Lou Dunbar of the Harlem Globetrotters, Pro Bowl football stanout cornerback Charles 'Peanut' Tillman, New Orleans native and NBA verteran Kerry Kittles, women's basketball legend Angela Johnson, High School football coaching icon Mackie Freeze, Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award winner Joan Cronan, Louisiana Sports Ambassador Award honoree Tim Brando and Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism, Kent Lowe and Robin Fambrough.

The inductees, family and friends were never far from the activities, comfortably staying at Chateau Saint Denis hotel located in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of most activities. Congratulations to all of inductees!